Mary Ramsay Civic Award Luncheon

Friday, April 19, 2024
The Governor Thomas Bennett House
69 Barre Street, Charleston, SC

Join Spoleto as we present The Mary Ramsay Civic Award, in memory of Mary Croghan Ramsay, celebrating local philanthropic and public leaders who have made extraordinary contributions in the community. In presenting this award, Spoleto’s commitment goes beyond concert halls and theaters to serve as a catalyst for cultural change through education and community engagement initiatives. The award celebrates Mary’s enduring work to promote the many causes that were dear to her heart, including the performing arts, urban development, higher education, and the welfare of people with disabilities. We invite you to join us in honoring Kit & Joel Smith and Dr. Mary Thornley as the 2024 recipients of The Mary Ramsay Civic Award.

Buy Tickets

This event is close to capacity. To purchase or inquire about tickets, please contact the Special Events team at [email protected] or 843-724-1188.

Thank you to our supporters!

As of April 18, 2024


Croghan’s Jewel Box
Explore Charleston
Nicole and Amir Dan Rubin
M. Edward Sellers
Kit and Joel Smith
SouthState Bank
The Wayne and Alicia Gregory Family Foundation


Bank of America Private Bank
The Peninsula of Charleston
Trident Technical College
Trident Technical College Foundation
Wells Fargo Commercial Banking


Mr. and Mrs. John M. Dunnan
Family Asset Management
Mrs. Peter Manigault
PWD Studio
South Atlantic Bank


Lee Bell and Fotios Pantazis
John B. Hagerty & Susan W. Simons
Bessie Simpson Hanahan
Anne Wolfe Liebergall
Jane and Mike McLain
Celeste Patrick


Nella Gray Barkley
Bob and Kathleen Carroll
Marion Cato
Dr. and Mrs. Brian G. Cuddy
Sallie and Charles Duell
Barbara G. S. Hagerty
Russell Holliday
Cathy Marino
Margie Morse
Susu Ravenel and Bob Kirby
Dr. and Mrs. Kerry Solomon
Catherine L. Stuhr
Cynthia B. Thompson


Katharine I. Bachmann
Henry J. Blackford III
John and Judy Bleecker
Alton G. Brown, III
Cress and Rebecca Darwin
David Dumas – M. Dumas and Sons
Mr. and Mrs. Carlos E. Evans
Theresa and Tom Evans
David Ginn
Betsy and Gene Johnson
Dr. and Mrs. George H. Khoury
Peggy Lewis
Angela Mack, CEO, Gibbes Museum of Art
Jennifer Ross, Chief Advancement Officer, Gibbes Museum of Art
David Morrow
Ronda Muir
Dr. Christopher Randolph and Sarah Beardsley
E. Tyler Rollins III
David Savard and Helen Savard
Wally and Bev Seinsheimer
Pat Smith


Caroline Ellis Pennington
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph S. Rice
Michael and Iris Rubin
Joan G. Sarnoff
Sunny and Samuel Steinberg
Mary Ellen Long Way

Special Thanks and Gifts in Kind

Caroline’s Cakes
Cheers Charleston
Croghan’s Jewel Box
Hampton Water
Snyder Events
Stradley Davidson
Tito’s Handmade Vodka