The Street

Venue: St. Matthew's Lutheran Church

Duration: Approximately 1 hour, 15 minutes


14 Meditations on the Stations of the Cross

US Premiere

Music by Nico Muhly
Text by Alice Goodman
Parker Ramsay, harp
Marcus Amaker, narrator
Members of the Spoleto Festival USA Chorus

Buttressed by eight voices from the Spoleto Festival USA Chorus, harpist Parker Ramsay’s “nuanced, insightful playing” (BBC Music Magazine) reverberates through the sanctuary of St. Matthew’s Lutheran Church. With a score by Nico Muhly, The Street reveals the brutality of a man’s wrongful condemnation and suffering. Text by librettist and reverend Alice Goodman punctuates this meditative work, a contemplation of the everyday violence in our world. 


Please note that any bag may be subject to search upon entry. 

Audience members will be required to wear masks at all indoor Spoleto Festival USA performances. More information »


Additional concerts in the Music in Time series