Rhapsodic Overture

Venue: Charleston Gaillard Center

Duration: Approximately 1 hour, 40 minutes


Unbound by time


Conducted by John Kennedy and Kellen Gray
Spoleto Festival USA Orchestra

Two premieres bookend this orchestral triple bill, a virtuosic showcase transcending time and place. For one, Charleston-born Edmund Thornton Jenkins’ Rhapsodic Overture receives a thrilling restoration—the score had been all but lost following the composer’s death in 1926. Also new to US ears is Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s 2018 symphony, AIŌN, an “electrifying” (The Arts Desk) and provoking perspective on existence, both past and future. Bridging these works is György Ligeti’s Piano Concerto. Featuring rising-star soloist Julia Hamos on the keys, it’s a dazzling display of the Hungarian composer’s polyrhythmic masterwork.


Please note that any bag may be subject to search upon entry. 

Audience members will be required to wear masks at all indoor Spoleto Festival USA performances. More information »